My Wild Ones: The Best of 2015

I’m the kind of person that can easily get really overwhelmed with the sadness of the world at times.  This is one of those times.  And I know I’m not the only one.  When I get like that, I need to give my heart a break.  It’s not avoiding the situation.  Well, maybe it is.  But either way, I need it.  I need a break from the overwhelm, and need to take some time to remember the good.  This week, it came in the form of our yearly album.  A little late, sure, but on Wednesday from the hands of Bob our mailman, came all of our best memories from last year all collected and bound into one lovely book.

I get daily emails from Story People (you can get them, too, by clicking on that link there and scrolling down a tiny bit), and I stockpile them – keeping them unread until I need some lifting up.  Each little story makes me smile.  I have one framed in my home, and even though I know every word, I stop to read it often.  It’s amazing how Brian Andreas can string such a small amount of words together to create such a big feeling.

This week, this one made me smile yet again, and gave me some hope: “I always wanted to invent something that would move around & make funny noises & would change the world as we know it & I forgot all about that until we had kids & now I see I came pretty close.”

So here it is: my two little world-changers playing and laughing and crying and loving their way through 2015.  Same rules as always, in place purely to help me narrow it down: two pictures from each month, not from vacation, and they can’t have anyone else but my family in them.  This year I also added: must be horizontal, and no naked body parts showing.  Hope this gives you a quick break from the overwhelm this week.sarah gee-1264sarah gee-1296sarah gee-3560sarah gee-3597sarah gee-4642sarah gee-5052sarah gee-5760sarah gee-5775sarah gee-8022sarah gee-7999sarah gee-4532sarah gee-4752sarah gee-5321sarah gee-5128sarah gee-0998sarah gee-4214sarah gee-4875sarah gee-4844sarah gee-9989sarah gee-0438sarah gee-0541sarah gee-0485sarah gee-0771sarah gee-2225

Maybe, if you’re feeling the overwhelm, go spend some time with your loved ones.  Put the phone down or the computer away.  Party it up, get silly, dance and sing.  Love each other.  Remember, the good far outweighs the bad.

2 thoughts on “My Wild Ones: The Best of 2015

Leave a Reply

