Real and true vows

The Wurmdells: Lisa Wurm and Joe Wendell.  I LOVE combining people’s last names to make a new one.  My favorite is my best pal Sarah Radke and her husband Jeremy Assell: RADASS – how amazing is that???  Strangely, they didn’t make it legal.

Back to the Wurmdells.  There are so, so many things I loved about their wedding (evidence: click here).  But one of my favorite things was their vows.  Just real and true and beautiful and meaningful.  I know this isn’t how we normally think of describing a couple’s vows, but they were… realistic.  They both know they will make mistakes and admitted this.  They both vowed to love one another anyways.  Joe realized there are feelings he hasn’t even had yet, and Lisa says they can’t possibly know what their future holds – but they want to go there together.  How beautiful is that?columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographyI am so grateful they’ve allowed me to share their vows here (slightly edited for space), because their words to one another are far more meaningful than anything that I might speak.

Lisa:

“Joe, thank you for taking this leap with me. The leap is high and hard but we do it with intentions and with so much love in our hearts. We recognize that we aren’t perfect, that we need to grow separately and together, forgive often, and challenge each other to be better people. That’s what makes us different, that’s what makes us better together.”
columbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I know I am loved. And while you’ve treated me like a queen, you’ve never asked me to be anyone other than who I am, you’ve never asked me to remove any jewels from my crown.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“We can’t possibly know what will manifest in our lives, what kind of people we will be, what kind of experiences we will have, but I promise to hold on to the truth that is us, be faithful that our truth will see us through.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I promise to give my best self to you. Sometimes that self will be less than it should be. I know it has been in the past. When my grief was tremendous, your love was bigger. When my suffering left me numb, your love made me feel again. When my heart was bitter, you helped me see life was still Sweet.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photography-Quick break from vows because this next picture cracks me up and I love it!-columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I promise to let whatever happens to us in the future – to let it nurture our relationship, even if it feels impossible to handle – because our future belongs to us and we can make it ours.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“It may have been chance that brought us together, but it was through hard work and perseverance that has brought us to today. I promise to continue to work hard at our relationship and build a bright future with you.” columbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I promise to be your enthusiastic partner in life, in career, and in love. We don’t need a piece of paper to prove that but we know the piece of paper means more than that. Especially to people who weren’t allowed to have that piece of paper until recently.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographyOkay, another pause.  Because woah.  Joe made a picture of what he thought Lisa’s dress would look like and gave it to her when he saw her for the first time that day.  He was pretty dang right on, eh?  Aaaaaaaaaannnddd, back to the awesomeness that is their vows.columbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I’m so grateful to call myself your wife.  Thank you for truly loving me.  I promise to love you with the same truth.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“Let’s go from here and create something bigger, something greater. Let’s go define the terms of our own lives, what it means to be married. Let’s go our own way, as we always have and never let anyone dictate to us if they think we are doing it the right way or the wrong way.  Let’s go out into this big scary world because life is short and I want to face it, together, with you, as my husband.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photography

And Joe’s vows:

“Lisa, above all things, I promise to love you always.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I promise honesty, transparency, and loyalty.  My life is open to you and I commit it to you now.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographysarah gee-2947columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I promise to support you in all you do.  I will lift your spirits when challenge looms and celebrate with you in times of victory.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I promise patience and understanding. Tho, there is much I do not know, and feelings I have not yet had, my love for you is constant and yearns to flourish.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“During our dark hours, I promise to fight for Us always. I will keep my heartfire stoked as we find our way back to the light.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographysarah gee-3462columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“Today, I make these promises in good faith, but know that I am imperfect. As such, I will strive, with everything I have to fulfill them.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photography“I love you Lisa.”columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographysarah gee photography4And then there were shotskis!!!  (Yes, I know that was a terrible transition, but how on earth else can you introduce shotskis?)columbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographycolumbus ohio documentary wedding photographyLisa and Joe, I am so happy to see you go out into the world together with those vows written upon your hearts.  I hope to see you fulfill every single one of them and make this life together meaningful and deep and glorious.  columbus ohio documentary wedding photography

Venue: Schiller Park and Germania

Dress: Wendy’s Bridal

Hair: Holly Clark with Salon Lofts

Makeup: Joy Mackey with State of Face

Flowers: Rose Bredl

Hairpiece, veil, jewelry: Trousseau Bridal

Tux: Romanoff

Ties: handmade by Joe and his dad!

DJ: PJ the DJ

Catering: Germania

Cake: A Little Slice of Heaven

Leave a Reply

