“I could not have imagined this day.”

I struggled and I struggled with how to write this one.  I am a story teller.  I LOVE telling my clients’ stories.  I want to keep them personal, and not make any general wide-sweeping statements with them.  It’s their story after all, and this one’s an especially good one.  I promise I’ll get to it.columbus ohio wedding photographerBut with the Supreme Court’s ruling on same sex marriage last week (wahoo!!!), it was hard to keep that separate from telling this family’s story.  I worried over it and tried to work out what would be best for this family’s hearts.  I didn’t want to take away from their personal story by making it all about the story of same sex marriage in the U.S.columbus ohio wedding photographerAnd then I finally realized: the ruling last week IS part of this family’s story.  It IS part of their engagement story.  It IS part of their wedding story.

This is what Elizabeth said on facebook that day:

“I could not have imagined this day. The decision. The tears of joy. The outpouring of love, support, and pride that jammed FB and blew up my phone. When we decided to push our wedding back a year, I hoped that maybe, just maybe, one more year would make all the difference. But I didn’t believe it really could. And now it has. Thank you SCOTUS. And thank you to every person who hoped, struggled, donated, and fought to make this day happen.”

Love won, and now their marriage will be legal.  How awesome is that?  Those of you in other countries or the 37 states that had already legalized same sex marriage, you might not realize how hopeless it was feeling for Ohio.  This ruling is a big, big deal.  I’m not sure that gay and lesbian couples would have had the right to marry anytime soon without the ruling on Obergefell v. Hodges.  This is history, my friends.   columbus ohio wedding photographer And what does that mean for this little man?  That his mamas will be equal in the eyes of the law, that their marriage will be recognized by society, that hopefully, hopefully he will grow up in a time of less discrimination, and his mamas will have the respect they have deserved all along.   columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographercolumbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer WHAT a beautiful thing.  columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographerAnd now, instead of heading back to the past and telling you how there was a time this kiss would not have been possible in public, for fear, and how countless others lived their lives in unnecessary secrecy or shame, and how some even took their own lives or lost their lives at the hands of others who couldn’t handle allowing someone to be who they are, and how many will still face discrimination despite this ruling and how we have a long way to go still – but we’re getting there; I’m going to get back to their story, their personal story.  Because it’s awesome.columbus ohio wedding photographer For their first date, Beth took Elizabeth to Mike’s bar in the Short North.  Elizabeth didn’t know where they were going, and at one point, Beth looked at her and said, “I’m not sure they’re gonna let you in dressed like that.”  Elizabeth, wearing jeans and a button-down shirt, was a little nervous.  columbus ohio wedding photographer But Beth brought her here, to Mike’s Bar, where you could come on in wearing a paper bag, and still be welcomed and offered a drink.  And that was maybe their first laugh together.  You can see by these pictures, there have been MANY more laughs since then.

A little over a year later, Beth set up an elaborate proposal scheme.  She decorated Mike’s backyard with flowers and lanterns and even a little gazebo.  She invited all of Elizabeth’s closests, and proposed with music and flowers and cue cards and lots of love.  columbus ohio wedding photographer In the following spring, Elizabeth proposed back on St. Patrick’s day, with a bag piper and a huge “Marry me, Babe?” quilt.  These two have no problem showing their beautiful hearts and love to one another.  I love that.columbus ohio wedding photographer Yep, that’s me in that next one.  I thought I had successfully hidden behind the bottles of alcohol.  I was wrong.  But they like it, and so do I, and that surely makes us a good match!columbus ohio wedding photographercolumbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer columbus ohio wedding photographer And now, as we celebrated their engagement, we of course had to celebrate at Mike’s – where it all began, where the idea of marriage began, and where there are sure to be many awesome nights to come.  columbus ohio wedding photographercolumbus ohio wedding photographerI can’t even tell you how excited I am for this wedding this fall.  These two are amazing, and I am honored to document their day and their love.  Much love to you, Elizabeth and Beth (and your little man)!

4 thoughts on ““I could not have imagined this day.”

Leave a Reply

