adventures in camping on your wedding day

camp kern weddingSo… I recently gave myself a limit on the number of images I can show in a post.  Today, I am a rule-breaker.  I just can’t possibly narrow this story down any further.  And what a beautiful story there is here.

These guys have long been clients of mine.  I’ve taken their sons’ pictures and have loved watching them grow.

If I were going to do my own wedding over again, THIS is how I’d do it.  They spent a whole weekend at Camp Kern, bunked in with their closest family and friends.  All the kiddos were sleeping in bunk beds when we arrived.  Here, their oldest had just woken up and was watching mommy get all done up for her big day.camp kern wedding camp kern wedding And then their youngest woke up all smiles and ready to steal the show!camp kern wedding camp kern wedding Loved seeing Jess all smiles while getting ready.camp kern wedding camp kern wedding Oh man, these ones of Theresa seeing her little man for the first time that day make me tear up every time!camp kern wedding camp kern wedding So when I was getting ready to photograph her getting her dress on, I started moving all the “distractions” out of the way (suitcases, shoes, clothes, etc.).  But then I stopped myself, because I feel like this is all part of the story – how they spent the weekend here, sleeping on these bunks at night, all surrounded by their loved ones.camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern weddingcamp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding Seriously, LOVED their wedding party – both sides.  I usually have to crack some joke to get a laughing picture like this.  But for Jess’s side, I just said, “Laugh about something funny,” a comment was made, and true laughter erupted!camp kern wedding They decided on a last-minute first look – the night before, they realized they’d see each other before walking down the aisle anyways.  And they were so glad they did.  camp kern wedding So many happy tears for and from these two!camp kern wedding camp kern wedding Jess gave Theresa a beautiful necklace.camp kern wedding The boys walked their Poppy and Mommy down the aisle!camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding And this one wanted to stay part of the action…camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding I love how they all held hands or linked arms walking back down the aisle.camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding Hayride back to the reception!camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern weddingSeriously, such a fun wedding party.  They were up for doing fun things for pictures, and were all about laughing with and loving on Theresa and Jess!  I posted a slightly different shot of this one in front of the general store over on facebook, and their friend who was the officiant wrote: “This picture is reflects the spirit of attraction you both have. There is not a person that knows either of you that does not know they are always ‘welcome on your porch.'”  Perfectly put.camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding Their friends surprised them by singing and dancing to Wannabe: “If you wanna be my lover, you gotta get with my friends.  Make it last forever.  Friendship never ends.”  I feel like this was really the focus of this whole wedding – joining these families and friends together as one big, beautiful community for Theresa, Jess, and their boys.   camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern wedding camp kern weddingI heard from Theresa and Jess shortly after the wedding, and was told I am now an official honorary family member.  Wahoo!!!  I am truly honored.  What a rockin’ family to be a part of!!!  Wishing your sweet family so many great adventures in this life!

If you are planning a wedding that is in ANY WAY anything like this amazing one, I would love to document it for you!  Tell me all about it over here!

Hair/Makeup: Jaime Thompson-Kostenbader & Cathy Corbett

Florist: Dannette’s Floral Boutique

Cake: Laurel Lee Bakery

 

20 thoughts on “adventures in camping on your wedding day

  1. This entire wedding makes me so happy! These are such beautiful images of a beautiful couple! (And I love the playfulness of the centerpieces!) You did a wonderful job documenting their day, Sarah!

    Like

  2. Pingback: “equal dignity in the eyes of the law” | sarah gee photography

  3. I’m pretty sure that “comment made” was about me haha. I love these pictures. And the ones you did of Dana and Laura are amazing too.

    Like

  4. Pingback: They waited twenty years for this… | sarah gee photography

Leave a Reply

